Athlete of the Month

 Congratulations Theresa!!!

Hometown: Springfield, MO

Current Location: King of Prussia, PA                                               

Age: 41

Occupation: Water Resource Consultant, which basically means I help water utilities find more water (groundwater mostly) and plan for future water needs.

College: Saint Louis University (Go Billikens!)

How long have you been a CrossFitter? 9 months.

Did you ever play sports? I was a swimmer in HS and college. Then sometime after college, I started having shoulder trouble so I started running to mix things up a little. Now I dabble in triathlons.

Got some cool (or uncool) hobbies you'd like to share? I really love birding and hunting for bugs and amphibians, which really just means I like to hike around in the woods.

What is your biggest achievement at CrossFit? Pull-ups! Even before I started CrossFit, I was working on pull-ups, but I didn’t get very far by myself. Four or five months after starting CrossFit, I got my first kipping pullups and now I can do one strict pull-up. I’m still working my way to my goal of 3 strict pullups, but the progress feels great.

What do you feel that you still need to work on? So many things come to mind, but overall strength is a big one. I also really need to work on my form for the Olympic lifts.

Goals for the rest of this year? I want to be able to string more pull-ups of all kinds. I’d also like to get better at double-unders.

What's your favorite WOD? Cindy or Kelly

How about your favorite food/snacks? I really love banana with peanut butter as a snack, but honestly, coffee and beer are my two favorite things.

What is the craziest workout outside of CF you have ever done? I once did a mountain challenge where we hiked for over 20 hours and hit 3 peaks. Hiking in the dark is quite an experience.

What’s your least favorite WOD? Grace or Isabel…I really need to work on my form.

Favorite lift/movement? I’m really in love with rope climbing. I guess it makes me feels like a kid. I also really love anything on the bar.

What’s your least favorite lift/movement? Probably cleans, but I’m determined to like them……someday. Oh, and rowing. I really dislike rowing and I have no determination to change that.

What skill are you planning working on in the new year 2016 the most? I would like to learn butterfly pullups this coming year.

What’s your favorite piece of workout "gear"? I don’t really have much gear so let’s say the shoes that I’m going to get for Christmas.

What would you say is your biggest improvement since starting CF? Overall, I just feel better and stronger. I think my body just works better now (at least, when I’m not crawling up the stairs after a workout). Also, CF has helped improve both my swimming and running immensely.

Who is your favorite coach? I appreciate every coach at KoP! I feel like I learn something different from each one. I still have so much to learn, so I am really thankful for all of the coaching knowledge

PR's to mention? Goals Reached? Nutrition highlights?.I have to mention my 8-foot wall climb! That was a really awesome moment for me. Thank you, Jason, for pushing me that day!

I’m really thankful for the people I’ve met at CrossFit KoP. I’m so excited to come work out every day and a large part of that is because of the friends I’ve made. The comradery is what makes everything really fun….even at 6am.


Laura Altimari said...

Congrats, Theresa!!

King said...

Theresa well deserved. You always give it 100% and have accomplished so much in 9 months - awesome!

Aimee Lyons said...

Congrats Theresa on all your accomplishments! You are always a pleasure to coach!